Daily Archives: February 19, 2011

Simon And Garfunkel: The Boxer


New York, New York


The Boxer, Simon and Garfunkel

I am just a poor boy though my story’s seldom told
I have squandered my resistance for a pocketful of mumbles, such are promises.
All lies and jest, still a man hears what he wants to hear
And disregards the rest, hmmmm

When I left my home and my family, I’s no more than a boy
In the company of strangers
In the quiet of the railway station, runnin’ scared, laying low,
Seeking out the poorer quarters, where the ragged people go,
Looking for the places only they would know.

Li la li…

Asking only workman’s wages, I come lookin’ for a job,
But I get no offers,
Just a come-on from the whores on 7th Avenue.
I do declare, there were times when I was so lonesome
I took some comfort there.

La la la…

now the years are rolling by me, they are -[rockin evenly]-
i am older than i once was
and younger than i’ll be that’s not unusual.
no it isnt strange after changes upon changes we are more or less the same
after changes we are more or less the same

Li la li…

And I’m laying out my winter clothes and wishing I was gone,
goin’ home
Where the New York City winters aren’t bleedin’ me, leadin’ me,
goin’ home.

In the clearing stands a boxer, and a fighter by his trade
And he carries the reminders of every glove that laid him down or cut him
‘Til he cried out in his anger and his shame
I am leaving, I am leaving, but the fighter still remains.

Li la li…

Mihai Eminescu: Glossa


Vreme trece Vreme Vine

vreme trece, vreme vine

scrisori marturii critice biografie pagina principala bibliografie

Youth Without Youth (Tinerete Fara Tinerete), Mircea Eliade: The Movie


This slideshow requires JavaScript.




A memorable movie, based on Mircea Eliade‘s novella  “Youth Without Youth“, the reincarnation theme, the immortality of the soul, the mission of one man to stand for what is right for the rest, at any cost, are so well manifested by Francis Ford Coppola  http://www.ywyfilm.com/index.html

Directed by Francis Ford Coppola
Produced by Francis Ford Coppola
Written by Francis Ford Coppola
Novella:
Mircea Eliade
Starring Tim Roth
Bruno Ganz
Alexandra Maria Lara
André Hennicke
Marcel Iureş
Adrian Pintea
Music by Osvaldo Golijov
Cinematography Mihai Malaimare Jr.
Editing by Walter Murch
Studio American Zoetrope
Distributed by Sony Pictures Classics
Release date(s) December 14, 2007 (2007-12-14)
Running time 121 minutes
Country United States
Language English

 I just finished watching the movie again, and can say that it is indeed a jewel of a movie, with a lot of meaning to everyone. I enjoyed seeing the North Train Station in Bucharest, which was a daily place for me being in my neighborhood.
Please visit the website bellow for more information on the movie, the actors, the theme, and to find out more about the life and work of Mircea Eliade, the historian of religions, who understood man’s necessity to know his ancestry and create the first ancestor’s sacred story. He also understood the common memory of civilization, with all the variations in completely isolated geographic areas, and in different historic times. Our stories are the very close in space and time. Our needs have been similar, from the beginning of time, only the means to attend to those needs may have been different: Still the fundamental idea that one is bound to do the right thing as a virtue, and character permeates thru this movie, and thru Mircea Eliade’s life and work.

Any Human Heart, Novel by William Boyd:Dramatization for TV on PBS: Masterpiece Teather


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


  Program: Masterpiece

Episode: Any Human Heart: Episode One

A story about a man–at various times a writer, lover, prisoner of war and spy–making his often precarious way through the 20th century:
So click on the shortcut bellow while keeping your fingers crossed (it can be accomplished, I  know, I tried it) and hope it will fly you there: Meanwhile, I’ll check the You tube, see what they can offer on the “Any Human Heart”:

To learn more about the in and outs of this marvelous jewell of literature, and its dramatization, check out the link to Wikipedia Dictionary (don’t stray now):

Ref.: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Any_Human_Heart

Beethoven, Romance for violin and orquestra,nº2, in F Major (Berliner Phil Abbado and Blacher)