george-b:

Rudimentary, my dear Watson! So late after the invention of the product with no public health in mind….How in the world got such infested design get approved, without a seal, to protect the top, from contamination, re-contamination, cross-contamination? The same for twist-to-open “bear” type caps, and the contamination deposited under between the cap and the bottle.
Great reminder, thank you!

Originally posted on CBS Miami:

MIAMI (CBS4) – Pop the top of your favorite soda and you can expect to find carbonated water, sugar, even a little sodium. But look closer. Could you also find some Bacillus? How about a splash of Staphylococcus?

CBS4 Investigates discovered nearly a dozen different germs lurking on the tops of 20-soda cans during a random test. We checked out groceries, gas stations, restaurants, universities and vending machines. We found this soda can in a Doral gas station with dark soot on the top.

“I really wasn’t expecting these to be as bad as they actually are, considering the sources they came from,” said Karen Deiss a Microbiologist. She showed us the black furry mold that was hiding on this can from a store.

“Oh wow,” was Deiss’s reaction. “The thought of that growing in your mouth after your drink, is awful.

[worldnow id=8385692 width=385 height=288 type=video]

A potent odor came from the yeast…

View original 415 more words

2 responses to “

  1. Hmmmmm, I have always out of habit washed the tops of cans before I open them. Thinking about them sitting in warehouses with lord knows what walking over it, spilling onto it, etc , etc. Leptospirosis is a nasty disease that can be prevented by simple washing with soap and water. I use a 10% bleach cleaning solution in my kitchen. LOL, my mother calls it obsessive,I call it logical. Truthfully though I never gave the lip under the bottle cap a thought, reason being my concern was more for the vermin aspect than the accumulation of bacterium. .I guess when I have them I will be washing those also,lol

    • Thanks for sharing desertrose, I too use sodium hypochlorite 10%. It is the most effective sterilizing product, and the higher concentration keep it from decomposing, and loosing its properties. I always rinse afterwards under running water.

Leave a Reply: (What... You're shy?)

