Daily Archives: December 29, 2013

George Eliot


What do we live for, if it is not to make life less difficult to each other?

George Eliot (1819-1880) Discuss

 

TITUS (39 CE)


Titus (39 CE)

The son of Roman emperor Vespasian, Titus gained renown as a military commander and was given command of the Praetorian Guard after repressing the Jewish rebellion in Judea. Upon succeeding his father in 79 CE, he pursued a policy of conciliation and sought popular favor. A benevolent ruler, he halted prosecutions for treason and spent lavishly on subjects, a practice that earned him goodwill in Rome but caused his successor financial trouble. What two disasters struck during his reign? More… Discuss

 

THE IROQUOIS THEATER FIRE (1903)


The Iroquois Theater Fire (1903)

Billed as “absolutely fireproof,” Chicago’s Iroquois Theater was filled with mostly women and children—out of school for the holidays—for a matinée on December 30, 1903, when a curtain caught fire. One actor tried calming the audience, but panic spread. Many escape routes were unmarked, and a stampede ensued. As people fled, the cold air they let in fed the inferno. More than 575 people died—a death toll more than double that of the famed 1871 Chicago Fire. What show had packed the theater? More… Discuss

 

DON’T WORRY, THIS WON’T HURT A BIT


Don’t Worry, This Won’t Hurt a Bit

It is natural to want to reassure children during medical procedures, but it may be better to refrain from doing so. A study of children’s anxiety during dental visitssuggests that placating words from nurses actually raise their stress levels rather than lowering them. Comments like “Don’t worry; it won’t hurt” or “It’s not going to last much longer” distress children by drawing attention to the negative aspects of the treatment. Kids seem to do better when they receive praise instead. For example, if a child opens his or her mouth, the nurse could say, “Well done for opening your mouth wide!” More…Discuss

 

THE MONGOLIAN DEATH WORM


The Mongolian Death Worm

The terrifyingly named Mongolian death worm is a creature purported to live in China’s Gobi Desert. Though its existence is widely debated, it is described as a bright red worm with a wide body that is 2 to 5 feet (0.6 to 1.5 m) long and is said to resemble a cow’s intestine. Mongolian locals claim that the worm can emit an electrical shock and spew acid that kills humans on contact and corrodes anything it touches. How did the Western world find out about the Mongolian death worm in 1926? More… Discuss

 

Hair – Original Broadway Cast Recording [Full Album] 1968



1. Aquarius (4:44)
2. Sodomy (1:29)
3. Donna / Hashish (4:20)
4. Colored Spade (1:31)
5. Manchester (1:57)
6. Abie Baby / Fourscore (2:44)
7. I’m Black / Ain’t Got No (2:23)
8. Air (1:27)
9. I Got Life (2:14)
10. Frank Mills (2:40)
11. Hair (2:42)
12. L.B.J. (1:09)
13. Electric Blue / Old Fashioned Melody (3:50)
14. Hare Krishna (3:16)
15. Where Do I Go? (2:49)
16. Black Boys (1:12)
17. White Boys (2:36)
18. Walking In Space (6:12)
19. Easy To Be Hard (3:39)
20. 3-5-0-0 (3:49)
21. Good Morning Starshine (2:24)
22. What A Piece Of Work Is Man (1:38)
23. Somebody To Love (4:10)
24. Don’t Put It Down (2:23)
25. The Flesh Failures (Let The Sunshine In) (6:04)

 

“HAIR” – “AQUARIUS”



The opening number from the Milos Forman film of the Broadway play, “Hair.”

 

U2 Sunday Bloody Sunday Live From Slane Castle


 

U2 Where The Streets Have No Name Live At Slane Castle



U2′s Where The Streets Have No Name Live At Slane Castle

Leonard Cohen & U2 : Tower Of Song



Tower Of Song – Video clip from the film ‘I’m Your Man
Video INCLUDED in DVD version – U2 : Window in the Skies

Well, my friends are gone and my hair is grey
I ache in the places where I used to play
And I’m crazy for love but I’m not comin’ on
I’m just payin’ my rent every day in the Tower of Song

I said to Hank Williams: “How lonely does it get?”
Hank Williams hasn’t answered yet
But I hear him coughing all night long
Oh, a hundred floors above me in the Tower of Song

I was born like this, I had no choice
I was born with the gift of a golden voice
And twenty-seven angels from the Great Beyond
They tied me to this table right here in the Tower of Song

So you can stick your little pins in that voodoo doll
I’m very sorry, baby, it doesn’t look like me at all
I’m standin’ by the window where the light is strong
Ah, they don’t let a woman kill you, not in the Tower of Song

Now, you can say that I’ve grown bitter but of this you may be sure:
The rich have got their channels in the bedrooms of the poor
And there’s a mighty Judgement comin’ but I may be wrong
You see, I hear these funny voices in the Tower of Song

I see you standin’ on the other side
I don’t know how the river got so wide
I loved you, baby, way back when…
And all the bridges are burnin’ that we might’ve crossed
But I feel so close to everything that we lost
We’ll never, we’ll never have to lose it again

Now, I bid you farewell, I don’t know when I’ll be back
They’re movin’ us tomorrow to the tower down the track
But you’ll be hearin’ from me, baby, long after I’m gone
I’ll be speakin’ to you sweetly from a window in the Tower of Song.

Yeah, my friends are gone and my hair is grey
I ache in the places where I used to play
And I’m crazy for love but I’m not comin’ on
I’m just payin’ my rent everyday in the Tower of Song

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Johnny Cash – Come Home, It’s Suppertime


 

Johnny Cash – Hurt



Yes Trent Reznor wrote the original.
Yes its a cover song. But J.R. made it his own. Both songs are equal in their own respect.

 

Neil Young – Heart of Gold/Lyrics


I want to live,
I want to give
I’ve been a miner
for a heart of gold.
It’s these expressions
I never give
That keep me searching
for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.
Keeps me searching
for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.

I’ve been to Hollywood
I’ve been to Redwood
I crossed the ocean
for a heart of gold

I’ve been in my mind,
it’s such a fine line
That keeps me searching
for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.
Keeps me searching
for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.

Keep me searching
for a heart of gold
You keep me searching
for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.
I’ve been a miner
for a heart of gold.

 

Creedence Clearwater Revival – Fortunate Son


 

Creedence Clearwater Revival – Bad Moon Rising


 

Creedence Clearwater Revival: Who’ll Stop The Rain


Creedence Clearwater Revival 
Who’ll Stop The Rain
Cosmo’s Factory

Lyrics:

Long as I remember 
The rain been comin’ down.
Clouds of myst’ry pourin’ 
Confusion on the ground.
Good men through the ages, 
Tried to find the sun;
And I wonder, still I wonder, 
Who’ll stop the rain.

I went down Virginia
Seekin’ shelter from the storm.
Caught up in the fable, 
I watched the tower grow.
Five year plans and new deals, 
Wrapped in golden chains.
And I wonder, still I wonder 
Who’ll stop the rain.

Heard the singers playin’, 
How we cheered for more.
The crowd had rushed together, 
Tryin’ to keep warm.
Still the rain kept pourin’, 
Fallin’ on my ears.
And I wonder, still I wonder 
Who’ll stop the rain.

 

Special: Playing for Change – Peace Through Music | Link TV


Special: Playing for Change – Peace Through Music | Link TV.

Why Do We Go to Space? | It’s Okay to be Smart | PBS Digital Studios



My ode to space exploration and Discovery.
Click here to SUBSCRIBE, it’s FREE! – http://bit.ly/iotbs_sub 
↓ More below ↓

Why do we go to space? In the beginning of our space program, the answer had a lot to do with war and paranoia. But with the dawn of the space shuttle, that all changed. Where do we go from here?

Special thanks to the National Air and Space Museum‘s Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center for letting us hang out with the shuttle Discovery.

Link to the interactive Mars panorama as seen on my phone:http://bit.ly/16ttUwr

Historical footage via NASA.

Music: “Divider” by Chris Zabriskie 
http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Chr…

Galileo would have made a great astronaut.

—————–

Have an idea for an episode or an amazing science question you want answered? Leave a comment below!

Tweet at me: @jtotheizzoe
Email me: itsokaytobesmart [at] gmail [dot] com
Facebookhttp://www.facebook.com/itsokaytobesmart
For more awesome science, check out:http://www.itsokaytobesmart.com

Written and hosted by Joe Hanson
Produced by PBS Digital Studios:http://www.youtube.com/user/pbsdigita… 

———–
Want some more great science?

My last episode: Monuments http://youtu.be/07K0vo-d1HA 

Want more? Watch: Animal Superpowers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e69yaW… 

Want even MORE? Rainbows
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pYnC-…

“Bloopers Vol. 1″ 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xahPvb…

 

Reality and Solitude: Getting Immersed in the Winter Desert | The Hidden Desert | The Back Forty | KCET


Reality and Solitude: Getting Immersed in the Winter Desert | The Hidden Desert | The Back Forty | KCET.

L.A. County hired dozens rejected by the Sheriff’s Department – latimes.com


L.A. County hired dozens rejected by the Sheriff’s Department – latimes.com.

Israel shells Lebanon after rocket attack – France – France 24


Israel shells Lebanon after rocket attack – France – France 24.

Image

HIHIHI-HOHOHO


cncartoons024530

Quotation: Henry David Thoreau about undue respect for a law


A common and natural result of an undue respect for the law is, that you may see a file of soldiers … marching in admirable order over hill and dale to the wars, against their wills, ay, against their common sense and consciences.

Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862) Discuss

Today’s Birthday: VENUSTIANO CARRANZA (1859)


Venustiano Carranza (1859)

After Mexican leader Porfirio Díaz was deposed in 1911, a protracted power struggle ensued. Carranza was the third person in as many years to assume executive power after Díaz’s ouster, but revolutionary leaders Pancho Villa and Emiliano Zapata objected and responded with force. Carranza prevailed, but his failure to implement key provisions of the liberal constitution of 1917 led to further unrest, and he was killed in 1920. What does carrancear, coined during Carranza’s tenure, mean? More…Discuss

 

This Day in the Yesteryear: ASHTABULA RIVER RAILROAD DISASTER (1876)


Ashtabula River Railroad Disaster (1876)

As the Lake Shore and Michigan Southern Railway train plowed ahead through deep snow on December 29, 1876, a bridge over Ohio’s Ashtabula River fractured with a loud crack, plunging every train car except the lead engine into the river about 70 ft (21 m) below. The wooden cars, equipped with kerosene lamps and stoves, became an inferno. Ninety-two people died, many burned beyond recognition. The accident initiated the standardization of bridge inspection. What became of the bridge’s designers? More… Discuss

 

News: “ICE” BENEATH THE ICE?


“Ice” Beneath the Ice?

Researchers have found deposits of kimberlite, a type of rock that frequently contains diamonds, in Antarctica, suggesting that the ice-covered continent could be hiding considerable riches. Environmentalists need not worry yet about diamond seekers, though; a 1991 treaty banned mining in Antarctica for 50 years, and many experts expect the ban to be extended when it expires in 2041. Some, however, are concerned that the recent find, added to the previous discoveries of gold, platinum, copper, iron, and coal on the continent, will induce signatories to let the ban lapse. More…Discuss