H. Wieniawski – Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22 (Kobayashi)

Henryk Wieniawski (1835-1880)

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22

Miki Kobayashi, violin
Orkiestra Kameralna Polskiego Radia Amadeus
Agnieszka Duczmal, conductor

Recorded at Auditorium Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza, Poznan, 2011


Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22, by the Polish violin virtuosoHenryk Wieniawski, may have been started in 1856, but the first performance did not take place until November 27, 1862, when he played it in St. Petersburg with Anton Rubinstein conducting. It was published in 1879, inscribed to his dear friend Pablo de Sarasate. The work is in three movements:

  1. Allegro moderato in D minor
  2. Romance: Andante non troppo in B flat major
  3. Allegro con fuoco – Allegro moderato (à la Zingara) in D minor/D major

Both main elements of the first movement, its sombre, restless first subject, and its lyrical pendant (begun by a solo horn) are discussed freely and subject to dazzling embellishments by the solo violin. This movement includes a demanding variety of technique, including chromatic glissandi, double stops, arpeggios, sixths, octaves, thirds, chromatic scales, and artificial harmonics, not to mention a myriad of bowing techniques. The beat is based on a 4/4 or common time.

The slow movement, a Romance, follows without a break. It is based on a lilting tune in 12/8 time and rises to an impassioned central climax.

A rhapsodic passage marked Allegro con fuoco and mainly a solo cadenza, leads to the finale, a dashing rondo in the gypsy style, which quotes the first movement’s subsidiary theme in the course of its second and third episodes. The final movement implements a 2/4 time, which allows the violinists to emphasize certain notes in the beginning of some measures.

Wieniawski’s second Violin Concerto remains one of the greatest violin concertos of the Romantic era, memorable for its lush and moving melodies and harmonies.        More…

2 responses to “H. Wieniawski – Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22 (Kobayashi)

  1. The music of the violin soared through my home. My heart caught in my throat. Elegant and lush Virginia


    • One of the most romantic composition of the romantic era, and what and interpretation, suited for the masters of the violin! Thanks for the kind comment, for visiting and for choosing to stay for a while.


Leave a Reply: (What... You're shy?)

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s