This Day in the Yesteryear: FIRST TREATIES OF UTRECHT SIGNED (1713)

First Treaties of Utrecht Signed (1713)

Lasting from 1701 to 1714, the War of the Spanish Succession was brought to a close with two series of treaties signed in the Dutch city of Utrecht. The first series was signed between France and other European powers, specifically Britain, the Dutch Republic, Prussia, Portugal, and Savoy. Among other concessions, France agreed to cede various territories and recognize Queen Anne as the British sovereign. After concluding these treaties, France still remained at war with what empire? More… Discuss

Leave a Reply: (What... You're shy?)

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s