Daily Archives: March 7, 2017

BUDDHA QUOTES 


Buddha Quotes

Today’s Holiday:Burbank Day


Today’s Holiday:
Burbank Day

The birthday of naturalist and plant breeder Luther Burbank (1849-1926) is observed in California in much the same way Arbor Day is observed in other states—that is, with activities promoting the value of natural resources and the protection of trees and birds. Burbank moved from his native Massachusetts to Santa Rosa, California, in 1875 and spent the rest of his life there experimenting with new varieties of fruits, flowers, and vegetables. On March 7, a birthday and Arbor Day celebration is held at the Luther Burbank Home and Gardens. More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Today’s Birthday:Luther Burbank (1849)


Today’s Birthday:
Luther Burbank (1849)

The 13th child of a Massachusetts farmer, Burbank received little formal education, yet he went on to become a groundbreaking horticulturist. Influenced by Charles Darwin’s writings, he began breeding plants at age 21. The rapid success of his Burbank potato, the russet variety of which is now the most widely-grown potato in the US, allowed him to move to California and establish an experimental farm, where he developed more than 800 varieties of plants. What is his spineless cactus used for? More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

This Day in History:Alexander Graham Bell Awarded US Patent for Telephone (1876)


This Day in History:
Alexander Graham Bell Awarded US Patent for Telephone (1876)

Originally an audiologist, professor, and teacher of the deaf, Bell became interested in the idea of transmitting sound waves by wire when he misread a thesis by a German physicist. He mistakenly believed that the thesis implied such a transmission was possible. It did not, but Bell’s idea was sound. Later, he described his mistranslation as a “valuable blunder.” Three days after receiving a patent for his device, he spoke the first sentence ever transmitted by telephone. What was it? More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Quote of the Day:Washington Irving


Quote of the Day:
Washington Irving

It was the policy of the good old gentleman to make his children feel that home was the happiest place in the world; and I value this delicious home-feeling as one of the choicest gifts a parent can bestow. More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Article of the Day:Guaymí


Article of the Day:
Guaymí

The Guaymí are an indigenous group living primarily within the Ngöbe-Buglé region of western Panama. Spanish conquistadors found 3 Guaymí tribes—the Nata, Parita, and Urracá—after settling Panama in the 16th century. Urracá, leader of the tribe that took his name, is the most well known of the 3 tribal chiefs. Famed as a Panamanian freedom fighter, Urracá battled and defeated the Spaniards on several occasions. In what mainstream industries do members of the once-isolated Guaymí tribes now work? More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Idiom of the Day:honorable mention


Idiom of the Day:

honorable mention

A recognition or citation of merit given to a contestant, exhibition, entry, etc., in a competition despite that person or thing not being awarded a prize or top honor. Primarily heard in US. Watch the video…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Word of the Day:musette


Word of the Day:
musette

Definition: (noun) A small French bagpipe operated with a bellows and having a soft sound.
Synonyms: shepherd’s pipe
Usage: The young man was adept at the musette and would play it during celebrations.: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

BBC News: CIA faces huge problem over malware claims


I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

CIA faces huge problem over malware claims – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-39197664

BBC News: Wikileaks: CIA has tools to snoop via TVs


I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

Wikileaks: CIA has tools to snoop via TVs – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-39193008

Happy Birthday, Michelangelo… 6.3.1475


Happy Birthday, Michelangelo… 6.3.1475

English translation of Schubert’s Winterreise, poems by W Muller – Theory of Music


https://www.google.com/amp/s/theoryofmusic.wordpress.com/2009/07/18/english-translation-of-schuberts-winterreise-poems-by-w-muller/amp/

 Die Winterreise No. 1. Good Night (Gute Nacht)

 

As a stranger I arrived

As a stranger I shall leave

I remember a perfect day in May

How bright the flowers

How cool the breeze

 

The maiden spoke of love

The mother had kind words

But now the world is dreary

With a winter path before me

 

I can’t choose the season

To depart from this place

I won’t delay or ponder

I must begin my journey now

 

The bright moon lights my path

It will guide me on my road

I see the snow-covered meadow

I see where deer have trod

 

A voice within says – go now

Why linger and delay?

Leave the dogs to bay at the moon

Before her father’s gate

 

For love is a thing of changes

God has made it so

Ever-changing from old to new

God has made it so

 

So love delights in changes

Good night, my love, good night

Love is a thing of changes

Good night, my love, good night

 

I’ll not disturb your sleep

But I’ll write above your door

A simple farewell message

Good night, my love, good night

 

These are the last words spoken

Soon I’ll be out of sight

A simple farewell message

Good night, my love, good night

Amazing: Watch “Gute Nacht (from Winterreise) Schubert Liszt Valentina Lisitsa” on YouTube


 Die Winterreise No. 1. Good Night (Gute Nacht)

 

As a stranger I arrived

As a stranger I shall leave

I remember a perfect day in May

How bright the flowers

How cool the breeze

 

The maiden spoke of love

The mother had kind words

But now the world is dreary

With a winter path before me

 

I can’t choose the season

To depart from this place

I won’t delay or ponder

I must begin my journey now

 

The bright moon lights my path

It will guide me on my road

I see the snow-covered meadow

I see where deer have trod

 

A voice within says – go now

Why linger and delay?

Leave the dogs to bay at the moon

Before her father’s gate

 

For love is a thing of changes

God has made it so

Ever-changing from old to new

God has made it so

 

So love delights in changes

Good night, my love, good night

Love is a thing of changes

Good night, my love, good night

 

I’ll not disturb your sleep

But I’ll write above your door

A simple farewell message

Good night, my love, good night

 

These are the last words spoken

Soon I’ll be out of sight

A simple farewell message

Good night, my love, good night.

Best classical music in the best interpretation ever: Watch “Schwanengesang (“Swan Song”) by Schubert with English Subtitles arr.Liszt Valentina Lisitsa” on YouTube


Cetatea Făgărașului: Dupămiază de Primăvară 


Cetatea Făgărașului: Dupămiază de Primăvară

 Die Winterreise No. 1. Good Night (Gute Nacht)

 

As a stranger I arrived

As a stranger I shall leave

I remember a perfect day in May

How bright the flowers

How cool the breeze

 

The maiden spoke of love

The mother had kind words

But now the world is dreary

With a winter path before me

 

I can’t choose the season

To depart from this place

I won’t delay or ponder

I must begin my journey now

 

The bright moon lights my path

It will guide me on my road

I see the snow-covered meadow

I see where deer have trod

 

A voice within says – go now

Why linger and delay?

Leave the dogs to bay at the moon

Before her father’s gate

 

For love is a thing of changes

God has made it so

Ever-changing from old to new

God has made it so

 

So love delights in changes

Good night, my love, good night

Love is a thing of changes

Good night, my love, good night

 

I’ll not disturb your sleep

But I’ll write above your door

A simple farewell message

Good night, my love, good night

 

These are the last words spoken

Soon I’ll be out of sight

A simple farewell message

Good night, my love, good night

Satul Mărgineni, Făgăraş, România 


Satul Mărgineni, Făgăraş, România

Watch “Valentina Lisitsa. Chopin Nocturne Op 27 # 2 D Flat Major” on YouTube


Watch “Valentina Lisitsa. Schubert Impromptu op. 142 No.3 B flat major” on YouTube


France 24:Hungarian parliament approves systematic detention of asylum-seekers


Hungarian parliament approves systematic detention of asylum-seekers

Hungary’s parliament on Tuesday approved the automatic detention of all asylum-seekers in container camps at the country’s southern borders, brushing off concerns from rights groups.

http://www.france24.com/en/20170307-hungarian-parliament-approves-systematic-detention-asylum-seekers

The legislation, approved by a large majority of lawmakers, is in response to recent terror attacks in Europe carried out by migrants, according to hardline Prime Minister Viktor Orban.

All asylum-seekers entering Hungary as well as those currently in the country will be detained or moved to the container camps.

There they will be prevented from moving around Hungary or leaving the country while their applications are processed, unless they are going back over the border to Serbia.

“In the future, illegal immigrants must wait for the verdict on their asylum case in designated transit zones at the border,” read Tuesday’s bill, published on the Hungarian parliament’s website.

It reinstates Hungary’s practice of detaining asylum applicants, which it suspended in 2013 under pressure from Brussels, the UN refugee agency and the European Court of Human Rights.

Amnesty International said in a statement last month that the new rules “disregard EU guiding principles that it is forbidden to detain someone on the basis that they have claimed asylum”.

“Elderly, sick people as well as families with children may also be detained (in the containers),” the rights group said.

‘Poison’

The bill is the latest element of a tough anti-immigration stance by Orban — who has called immigration “poison” — which has long been slammed by rights groups as inhumane.

As well as building militarised razor wire fences on its borders with Serbia and Croatia in 2015, Hungary has handed thousands of migrants expulsion orders for “illegal border-crossing” and even jailed some.

It has also gradually been closing down its network of refugee camps, while allowing only a trickle of asylum-seekers into the existing transit zones.

According to the government, 1,004 people have applied for asylum in Hungary so far this year.

According to government officials, the new border camps will comprise converted shipping containers built onto existing “transit zones” erected in 2015 at the southern border with Serbia.

The government says the new legislation will protect both Hungarian and EU citizens.

It says migrants have been abusing the previous rules and leaving Hungary before a verdict is reached, exposing the bloc to the risk of terror attacks.

“Any legal regulation that facilitates terror acts must be changed in the interests of our own self-defence,” Orban said in January.

The 53-year-old Orban, a strong admirer of US President Donald Trump, has long taken a hard line on immigration.

He has said that a large influx of Muslim migrants into Europe poses a security risk and endangers the continent’s Christian culture and identity.

Budapest has refused to take part in an EU scheme to share around the EU the hundreds of thousands of migrants who entered the bloc in recent years.

Another change in law last year enabled police to physically push back to Serbia anyone caught in Hungarian territory within eight kilometres (five miles) of the border.

The interior ministry was forced Monday to defend police against accusations of brutality against migrants, made in a newspaper article by medical aid organisation Doctors Without Borders (MSF).

The ministry “repeatedly and categorically rejects the unverified allegations,” said a statement.

(AFP)
 

BBC News: Malaysia foils ‘Yemeni attack on Arab royals’


I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

Malaysia foils ‘Yemeni attack on Arab royals’ – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-39193173

BBC News: Thaad: US begins deploying missile defence system in South Korea


I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

Thaad: US begins deploying missile defence system in South Korea – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-39188826

BBC News: House Republicans unveil Obamacare replacement plan


I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

House Republicans unveil Obamacare replacement plan – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-39188407

BBC News: Trump travel ban: Targeted nations condemn new US order


I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

Trump travel ban: Targeted nations condemn new US order – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-39194875