Daily Archives: March 15, 2017

Watch “Valentina Lisitsa, piano Novosibirsk Philharmonic in Dusseldorf” on YouTube


Today’s Holiday:Kiplingcotes Derby


Today’s Holiday:
Kiplingcotes Derby

The Kiplingcotes Derby, which is run along the Wolds Way in Yorkshire, England, on the third Thursday in March, dates back more than 450 years, making it the longest-running “flat race” (as opposed to the steeplechase, which involves jumping over obstacles) in England. The route along which the horses run measures four miles in length and cuts through five different parishes, supposedly following an ancient Roman road. It begins near South Dalton and finishes near Kiplingcotes Farm in the parish of Middleton-on-the-Wolds. More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Today’s Birthday:Caroline Lucretia Herschel (1750)


Today’s Birthday:
Caroline Lucretia Herschel (1750)

Caroline Herschel was a British astronomer. At the age of 10, she contracted typhus, which permanently stunted her growth—but not her ambition. Her family assumed that she would never marry because of her height and trained her to be a household servant. But when her brother, Sir William Herschel, took up astronomy and accepted the position of King’s Astronomer, she joined him as his assistant and assumed the laborious task of cataloguing thousands of stars and nebulae. What did she discover? More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

This Day in History:Caligula Becomes Emperor of Rome (37 CE)


This Day in History:
Caligula Becomes Emperor of Rome (37 CE)

When Caligula became the Roman emperor in 37 CE, replacing the hated Tiberius, the public welcomed his reign, and for a time it was uneventful. Seven months later, he fell severely ill, and when he recovered, he was a changed man. Suddenly, his reign was marked by financially ruinous extravagance, unmatched cruelty, and rampant executions, even of his former supporters. He was assassinated within a few years. What may have caused the mental instability Caligula displayed after his illness? More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Quote of the Day:Francis Bacon


Quote of the Day:
Francis Bacon

Fame is like a river, that beareth up things light and swollen, and drowns things weighty and solid. More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Article of the Day:The Royal Bengal Tiger


Article of the Day:
The Royal Bengal Tiger

The Royal Bengal tiger is one of the largest and the most common tiger subspecies. The national animal of Bangladesh, the Bengal tiger is strictly protected and significant populations can now be found in both Bangladesh and India. Despite their large size, Bengal tigers can climb trees and are strong swimmers, often ambushing prey that is drinking, swimming, or that has merely retreated into the water during a chase. How much meat can a Bengal tiger consume at one time? More…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Idiom of the Day:I’ll be hanged if I do (something)


Idiom of the Day:
I’ll be hanged if I do (something)

I am determined not to do something. Watch the video…: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Word of the Day:panpipe


Word of the Day:
panpipe

Definition: (noun) A primitive wind instrument consisting of several parallel pipes bound together.
Synonyms: syrinx, pandean pipe
Usage: When his parents refused to buy him an instrument, the industrious ten-year-old fashioned himself a makeshift panpipe out of string and some pieces of dried bamboo he found in the garage.: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tfd.mobile.TfdSearch

Watch “Donations” on YouTube


Donations

This song is by Loudon Wainwright III and appears on the album Last Man On Earth (2001).

If they had to tell someone that something had happened
If they found me just lying there what could they do?
In case of an accident who could they notify
Would it be alright if they notified you?
I’m an unmarried orphan whose children have scattered
Estranged from my siblings close friends just a few
And of those few friends I consider you closest
They must contact someone
Could they contact you?
When they give you the bad news
I’m sure you won’t snicker
You’ll remember the good times and all we went through
Then I suppose that you’ll tell all the others
Performing that awful task, someone has to
When they go through my wallet and fish out my license
They’ll learn my D-O-B and my eyes were blue
As for my corneas, I don’t care who gets them
All other organs and parts are for you

Written by:

Loudon Wainwright III

Watch “Donations” on YouTube


Watch “Mary Hopkin – Those Were The Days” on YouTube


Watch “peter green’s fleetwood mac – need your love so bad” on YouTube


“Need Your Love So Bad” lyrics

JOE COCKER LYRICS


Play the Joe Cocker Quiz

“Need Your Love So Bad”
(originally by Fleetwood Mac)

Need someone’s hand to lead me through the night
I need someone’s arms to hold and squeeze me tight
Now, when the night begins, whoa, I’m at an end
Because I need your love so bad
I need some lips to feel next to mine
Need someone to stand up – to stand up and tell me when I’m lyin’
And when the lights are low – and it’s time to go
That’s when I need your love so bad
So why don’t you give it up, baby and bring it home to me
or write it on a piece of paper, woman – so it can be read to me
Tell me that you love me – and stop drivin’ me mad
whoa, because I – I need your love so bad
Need a soft voice – just to talk to me at night
Don’t want you to worry, baby
I know we can make everything alright
Listen to my plea, baby, come on bring it to me
‘Cause I need – your love so bad
Baby, I need, I need – woman, I need your love so bad

Watch “The Avett Brothers – No Hard Feelings” on YouTube


https://www.facebook.com/v2.3/plugins/like.php?action=like&app_id=&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fstaticxx.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2Fr%2Fao6eUeuGXQq.js%3Fversion%3D42%23cb%3Df3cad332c9938ec%26domain%3Dwww.azlyrics.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.azlyrics.com%252Ffdb12857970d18%26relation%3Dparent.parent&container_width=0&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.azlyrics.com%2Flyrics%2Favettbrothers%2Fnohardfeelings.html&layout=button_count&locale=en_US&sdk=joey&share=false&show_faces=false

EmailEmail PrintPrint

“No Hard Feelings” lyrics

THE AVETT BROTHERS LYRICS

“No Hard Feelings”

When my body won’t hold me anymore
And it finally lets me free
Will I be ready?
When my feet won’t walk another mile
And my lips give their last kiss goodbye
Will my hands be steady?

When I lay down my fears
My hopes and my doubts
The rings on my fingers
And the keys to my house
With no hard feelings

When the sun hangs low in the west
And the light in my chest
Won’t be kept held at bay any longer
When the jealousy fades away
And it’s ash and dust for cash and lust
And it’s just hallelujah
And love in thoughts and love in the words
Love in the songs they sing in the church
And no hard feelings

Lord they knows they haven’t done
Much good for anyone
Kept me afraid and cold
With so much to have and hold

When my body won’t hold me anymore
And it finally lets me free
Where will I go?
Will the trade winds take me south
Through Georgia grain or tropical rain
Or snow from the heavens?

Will I join with the ocean blue
Or run into the savior true
And shake hands laughing
And walk through the night
Straight to the light
Holding the love I’ve known in my life
And no hard feelings

Lord they knows they haven’t done
Much good for anyone
Kept me afraid and cold
With so much to have and hold
Under the curving sky
I’m finally learning why
It matters for me and you
To say it and mean it to
For life and its loveliness
And all of its ugliness
Good as its been to me
I have no enemies
I have no enemies
I have no enemies
I have no enemies