Tag Archives: André Previn Wiener Philharmoniker

Make Music Part of Your Life Series: Mozart: Symphony No.29 – André Previn Wiener Philharmoniker(2000Live)


Mozart: Symphony No.29André Previn Wiener Philharmoniker (2000Live)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Symphony No.29 in A major, K.201
André Previn
Wiener Philharmoniker
Festspielhaus, Salzburg, 28 1/2000

The Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201/186a, was completed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart on 6 April 1774.[1] It is, along with Symphony No. 25, one of his better known early symphonies. Stanley Sadie characterizes it as “a landmark … personal in tone, indeed perhaps more individual in its combination of an intimate, chamber music style with a still fiery and impulsive manner.”[2]


The symphony is scored for 2 oboes, 2 horns and strings, as was typical of early-period Mozart symphonies.

There are four movements:

  1. Allegro moderato, 2/2
  2. Andante, 2/4
  3. Menuetto: Allegretto – Trio, 3/4
  4. Allegro con spirito, 6/8

The first movement is in sonata form, with a graceful principal theme characterized by an octave drop and ambitious horn passages. The second movement is scored for muted strings with limited use of the winds, and is also in sonata form. The third movement, a minuet, is characterized by nervous dotted rhythms and staccato phrases; the trio provides a more graceful contrast. The energetic last movement, another sonata-form movement in 6/8 time, connects back to the first movement with its octave drop in the main theme.

Enhanced by Zemanta