Tag Archives: Czech Philharmonic

Antonín Dvořák – Symphony No. 9 in E Minor “From the New World” By Von Karajan: great compositions/performances

Antonín Dvořák – Symphony No. 9 in E Minor “From the New World” By Von Karajan


1. Adagio, 4/8 — Allegro molto, 2/4, E minor
2. Largo, common time, D-flat major, then later C-sharp minor
3. Scherzo: Molto vivace — Poco sostenuto, 3/4, E minor
4. Allegro con fuoco, common time, E minor, ends in E major
Sinfonia n.º 9 (Dvořák)
A Sinfonia Nº. 9 em Mi menor Op. 95 Sinfonia do Novo Mundo
Symfonie č. 9 (Dvořák), Symfonie č.9, e-moll, op. 95 Antonína Dvořáka

This symphony is scored for an orchestra of the following:
2 flutes (one doubling piccolo)
2 oboes (one doubling on English horn)
2 clarinets in A and B♭ (B♭ in movement 2)
2 bassoons
4 horns in E, C and F
2 trumpets in E, C and E♭
2 tenor trombones
bass trombone
tuba (second movement only)
triangle (third movement only)
cymbals (fourth movement only)
Symphony No. 9 (Dvořák)

Arthur Rubinstein plays The Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22 by Camille Saint-Saëns: great compositions/performances

Saint Saens – Piano conc.No.2 – Arthur Rubinstein

Make Music Part of Your Life Series: Bartered Bride Blachut Cervinková Ancerl Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra 1947


Bartered Bride Prodaná nevěsta Karel Ancerl

Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra 1947

Jenik – Beno Blachut
Marenka – Ludmila Cervinková
Krusina – Ladislav Mraz
Ludmilla – Jarmila Palivcova
Micha – Josef Heriban
Hata – Vera Krilová
Vasek – Rudolf Vonásek
Kecal – Karel Kalas
Circus master – Bohumir Vich
Esmeralda – Jarmilla Pechová
Indian – Jan Soumar

Enhanced by Zemanta

Antonín Dvořák – Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 10

Symfonie č. 3 Es dur, Op. 10

00:00 Allegro moderato
11:33 Adagio molto, tempo di marcia
28:27 Finale. Allegro vivace

Czech philharmonic orchestra, Václav Neumann

Česká filharmonie, Václav Neumann
Symphony no.3 in E flat major was premiered by Bedřich Smetana in 1874. It was a great moment for young Dvořák, because it was his first big score played in public. You can heard in this symphony typical dvořák’s melodies but also some inspiration from Liszt or Wagner (work with motives, harmonies).