Tag Archives: harpsichord concerto

Musical Jewels: Glenn Gould talks about J S Bach: make music part of your life series (i#make music part of your life series)

Glenn Gould talks about J S Bach

J. S. Bach, Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 – Ana Vidovich (“ANA VIDOVIC – GUITAR VIRTUOSO”, 2006): great compositions/performances

J. S. Bach, Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 – Ana Vidovich

Giuseppe Torelli: Sonata à cinque in D major, (G.5)

Álbum: Torelli: Trumpet Concertos
Interpretes del álbum: Thomas Hammes, Peter Leiner, Nicol Matt & European Chamber Soloists
Compositor: Giuseppe Torelli
Genero: Barroco Italiano
Año: 2004
Movimientos: Adagio-Allegro e Staccato-Adagio-Allegro


Bach – Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 In F Major, BWV 1046

The Brandenburg concertos by Johann Sebastian Bach (BWV 1046–1051, original title: Six Concerts à plusieurs instruments) are a collection of six instrumental works presented by Bach to Christian Ludwig, margrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt, in 1721 (though probably composed earlier). They are widely regarded as among the finest musical compositions of the Baroque era.

Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046

Cologne Chamber Orchestra
Helmut Muller-Bruhl

Title on autograph score: Concerto 1mo à 2 Corni di Caccia, 3 Hautb: è Bassono, Violino Piccolo concertato, 2 Violini, una Viola è Violoncello, col Basso Continuo.
Menuet – Trio I – Menuet da capo – Polacca – Menuet da capo – Trio II – Menuet da capo

Instrumentation: two corni da caccia, three oboes, bassoon, violino piccolo, and two violins, viola, cello, and basso continuo.

This concerto is the only one in the collection with four movements. An earlier version (Sinfonia, BWV 1046a) which does not use the violino piccolo was used for the opening of cantata BWV 208. This version lacks the third movement entirely, and the Polacca from the final movement, leaving Menuet – Trio I – Menuet – Trio II – Menuet. The first movement can also be found as the sinfonia of the cantata Falsche Welt, dir trau ich nicht, BWV 52. The third movement was used as the opening chorus of cantata BWV 207.


A. Vivaldi : Concerto RV 90 Il Gardellino. Il delirio fantastico

Enregistrement live, mars 2011 au Temple du Change à Lyon

Concerto da camera, version pour flûte, hautbois, violon, basson & basse continue “Il Gardellino” (‘le chardonneret’). 

[Allegro] – Largo – Allegro

Il delirio fantastico
Virginie Botty, flûte à bec
Reynier Guerrero, violon
Jon Olaberria, hautbois
Florian Gazagne, basson
Jean-Baptiste Valfré, violoncelle

Vincent Bernhardt, clavecin & direction


J.S. Bach – Harpsichord or (Organ) Concerto in d minor, BWV 1059 / Ton Koopman, organ

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685~1750)
Konzert für Clavier, Streicher und Basso Continuo d-moll, BWV 1059
(incomplete work, revision by Ton Koopman version)
I. Sinfonia (from cantata, BWV 35: Sinfonia) – 00:00
II. Aria (from cantata, BWV 35: “Gott hat alles wohlgemacht”) – 05:18
III. Sinfonia: presto (from cantata, BWV 35: Second Sinfonia) – 08:59
Ton Koopman (orgel)
Ku Ebbinge (oboe da caccia)
The Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra
Ton Koopman (conductor)
*Clavier(Keyboard): harpsichord, clavichord, claviorganum, or organ etc.* 
 Concerto in d minor, BWV 1059 (incomplete) – 

Fragment consisting of 9 bars(only the first 9 bars survive in Bach’s own hand). Taken from the opening Sinfonia of the Cantata, BWV 35 “Geist und Seele wird verwirret” (1726) In the cantata, Bach uses an obbligato organ not only in the two sinfonias (which evidently form the first and last movements of a lost instrumental concerto, possibly for Oboe) but also in the aria No. 1, whose siciliano character likewise points to its original function as a concerto movement. Bach intended to write this out as a harpsichord concerto but abandoned the endeavor after only 9 bars. Continue reading