Tag Archives: Quartet Weigang Li

make music part of your life series: Franz Schubert: Quartettsatz in C-moll, D. 703 and Antonín Dvořák:String Quartet No.14, Op.105


Franz Schubert: Quartettsatz in C-moll, D. 703

Franz Schubert: Quartettsatz in C-moll, D. 703
The Quartettsatz in C-moll (English: Quartet Movement in C minor), D. 703 was composed by Franz Schubert in December 1820. It is the first movement, of a Twelfth String Quartet which Schubert never completed. In addition to the opening movement, Schubert also composed the first forty bars of a second movement marked Andante. The unfinished quartet is regarded as one of the first products of Schubert’s mature phase of composition.[1][2][3]


The composition consists of a single sonata form movement marked Allego assai and typical performances last around 10 minutes.

Antonín Dvořák:String Quartet No.14, Op.105

I. Adagio ma non troppo—Allegro appassionato
II. Molto vivace
III. Lento e molto cantabile
IV. Finale. Allegro non tanto

Shanghai Quartet

Weigang Li, violin
Yi-Wen Jiang, violin
Honggang Li, viola
Nicholas Tzavaras, cello

Alexander Kasser Theater
Montclair State University
1 Normal Avenue, Montclair, NJ 07043
3:00pm, April 12, 2013

Filmed and edited by Rodney Leinberger