Tag Archives: The Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra

J.S. Bach – Easter Oratorio, BWV 249


KUSC.org (Access Here or from the widget on the sidebar)

KUSC.org (Access Here or from the widget on the sidebar)

The Amsterdam Baroque Choir
The Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra
Ton Koopman

The Easter Oratorio (in German: Oster-Oratorium), BWV 249, is an oratorio by Johann Sebastian Bach, Kommt, eilet und laufet (Come, hasten and run). Bach composed it in Leipzig and first performed it on 1 April 1725.

BWV 249
Composition byJohann Sebastian Bach
Thomaskirche Interior.jpg
Thomaskirche, Leipzig
Title Easter Oratorio
Original Kommt, eilet und laufet
BWV 249
Related based on BWV 249a
Genre oratorio
Occasion Easter
Performed 1 April 1725 – Leipzig
Movements 11
Text poet Picander?
Solo voices S A T B
Choir SATB
Instruments 3Tr Ti 2Fl Ft 2

The first version of the work was completed as a cantata for Easter Sunday in Leipzig on 1 April 1725, then under the titleKommt, gehet und eilet.[1] It was named “oratorio” and given the new title only in a version revised in 1735. In a later version in the 1740s the third movement was expanded from a duet to a four-part chorus.[1] The work is based on a secular cantata, the so-called Shepherd Cantata Entfliehet, verschwindet, entweichet, ihr Sorgen, BWV 249a which is now lost, although thelibretto survives. Its author is Picander who is also likely the author of the oratorio’s text. The work is opened by two instrumental movements that are probably taken from a concerto of the Köthen period. It seems possible that the third movement is based on the concerto’s finale.[1]

o.     First line
1 Sinfonia    
2 Adagio    
3 Aria tenor, bass Kommt, eilet und laufet
4 Recitativo soprano, alto, tenor, bass O kalter Männer Sinn
5 Aria soprano Seele, deine Spezereien
6 Recitativo alto, tenor, bass Hier ist die Gruft
7 Aria tenor Sanfte soll mein Todeskummer
8 Recitativo soprano, alto Indessen seufzen wir
9 Aria alto Saget, saget mir geschwinde
10 Recitativo bass Wir sind erfreut
11 Chorus SATB Preis und Dank