Watch “Leonard Cohen × “So Long, Marianne”” on YouTube

LEONARD COHEN LYRICS

“So Long Marianne”

Come over to the window, my little darling, 
I’d like to try to read your palm. 
I used to think I was some kind of Gypsy boy 
before I let you take me home. 
Now so long, Marianne, it’s time that we began 
to laugh and cry and cry and laugh about it all again. 

Well you know that I love to live with you, 
but you make me forget so very much. 
I forget to pray for the angels 
and then the angels forget to pray for us. 

Now so long, Marianne, it’s time that we began … 

We met when we were almost young 
deep in the green lilac park. 
You held on to me like I was a crucifix, 
as we went kneeling through the dark. 

Oh so long, Marianne, it’s time that we began … 

Your letters they all say that you’re beside me now. 
Then why do I feel alone? 
I’m standing on a ledge and your fine spider web 
is fastening my ankle to a stone. 

Now so long, Marianne, it’s time that we began … 

For now I need your hidden love. 
I’m cold as a new razor blade. 
You left when I told you I was curious, 
I never said that I was brave. 

Oh so long, Marianne, it’s time that we began … 

Oh, you are really such a pretty one. 
I see you’ve gone and changed your name again. 
And just when I climbed this whole mountainside, 
to wash my eyelids in the rain! 

Oh so long, Marianne, it’s time that we began …

Leave a Reply: (What... You're shy?)