Daily Archives: January 30, 2011

One Of Those Things First: My Movie # 10, January 29, 2011





One Of Those Things First, Nick Drake

I could have been a sailor, could have been a cook
A real live lover, could have been a book.
I could have been a signpost, could have been a clock
As simple as a kettle, steady as a rock.
I could be
Here and now
I would be, I should be
But how?
I could have been
One of these things first
I could have been
One of these things first.

I could have been your pillar, could have been your door
I could have stayed beside you, could have stayed for more.
Could have been your statue, could have been your friend,
A whole long lifetime could have been the end.
I could be yours so true
I would be, I should be through and through
I could have been
One of these things first
I could have been
One of these things first.

I could have been a whistle, could have been a flute
A real live giver, could have been a boot.
I could have been a signpost, could have been a clock
As simple as a kettle, steady as a rock.
I could be even here
I would be, I should be so near
I could have been
One of these things first
I could have been
One of these things first.

Garden State: Disclosure, A Mother’s Love-A Son’s Gratitude, A Lover’s Compassion


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


This is what I say: “Gratitude is the expression of Love; It’s never to late to be grateful, it’s never to late to love and be loved; So always be grateful”

The  scene sums up the plot af the movie: We discover that the proper treatment can cure years of debilitating but otherwise ineffective medication: There a proper treatment out there: Love and compassion, are a good start.  
In addition: I don’t know about you, but I remember a box just like that one, from where I was a child, and my mother’s sleeve, when she was taking me to the clinic to treat a medium ear otitis.

Quote from Garden State:
~ You know, this necklace makes me think of this totally random memory of my mother. I was a little kid, and I was crying for whatever reason, and she was cradling me, rocking me back and forth, and I can just remember the silver balls floating around. And there was, like, snot running down my nose, right?. And she offered me her sleeve – and told me to blow my nose into it. And I can remember, even as a little kid, thinking to myself: This is love…this is love.~
)Scene in the  bathtub, with Natalie Portman (Sam) Andrew’s girlfriend.)

Andrew Largeman (Zach Braff, Screenwriter, Director, Lead Character)

One Of Those Things First: Hommage to Nick Drake


One Of Those Things First_ Nick Drake
Garden State

I enjoyed hearing again Nick Drake’s “One Of Those Things First while watching the movie “Garden State”.  Filmed over 25 days in April and May 2003 and released on July 28, 2004. The main setting and primary shooting location was New Jersey. It was an official selection of the Sundance Film Festival. The film won Hollywood Breakthrough Director of the Year Award at the Hollywood Film Festival.
“Garden State” was well-received. The film also spawned a soundtrack for which Braff, who picked the music himself, won a Grammy award. Even though about youth, the movie envelops a realistic and profound plot, modern for the analysis of family complicated relations, human suffering and coping with health, social, cultural and intimate thru the eyes of the young generation. There hopes, development, careers, opportunities are realistically depicted and supported by great actors: Zach Braff, Natalie Portman,  Jean Smart, Peter Sargaard and Ian Holm.

J.S. Bach – Cantata BWV 147: “Jesu bleibet meine Freude” Pierre Bardon (Organ)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


,

Pierre Bardon à l’orgue historique Isnard de la Basilique du Coubent Royal de Saint-Maximin.